Cooler Than You: Stan Lee and Al Jolson

November 2, 2006

As some might know, on Monday night I attended a screening of Spider-Man 2 at the world-famous Mann’s Chinese Theater in Hollywood. I’ve seen Spider-Man 2 more times than I’d like to mention, but what was so special about this screening was that it was hosted by Stan Lee and Kevin Smith!

Unfortunately, aside from the overhwhelming coolness of the whole thing, there isn’t very much to report. My camera wasn’t allowed inside the theater, and they rushed Stan and Kevin so much that they didn’t even bother to answer any audience questions. It was a fun experience, though, and I’m thrilled just to have been in the same room with Stan Lee. Hearing personal stories about Dr. Doom or Fin Fang Foom was icing on the cake.

Much like Bob Barker, Stan Lee was one of those people I wanted to see in person at least once before they retired in seclusion or um… you know. Hopefully I will see him again at Comic-Con 2007, but that place is such a mess I’m not even sure I want to attend.

Another positive note: I stumbled across Al Jolson’s footprints in front of the theater.

Al Jolson

Awesome.

3 Responses to “Cooler Than You: Stan Lee and Al Jolson”

  1. anne Says:

    Literary inspirations include 1984, Watchmen, and pretty much anything where the lead characters are killed off in the end.[this is awesome]and so true for me too.I like your writing. We should be friends.

  2. Sara Says:

    I love seeing pictures of you.

  3. N Says:

    My envy is overwhelming.
    I'm glad at least one of us got to see Stan Lee in person. I'd like to take the altruistic route and say that I'm glad it was you, but that just wouldn't be honest. All's fair in love, war, and listening to Stan Lee talk about Fin Fang Foom.


Leave a Reply

