QotD: Books From My Childhood

December 11, 2006

What books did you love as a child?
Submitted by hearts.

Some of my favorite books growing up were the ‘Clue’ mysteries, based on the popular board game. There were 18 in total, each containing ten self-contained stories. These stories featured a wide variety of mysteries, ranging from who stole the last piece of cake to who killed Mr. Boddy. It should be of no surprise to anyone that I wasn’t very good at solving these mysteries. I mostly read them for their (seemingly) sophisticated humor, and because I was obsessed with the board game.

Clue

Poor Mr.Boddy. Although he was only a corpse in the board game, here he was a real-life, interesting character. These stories helped to flesh out the world of ‘Clue,’ and made you care about Mr. Boddy before he was ‘killed’ off in the final chapter of each book. Don’t worry, though, in the next installment he would miraculously reappear, ready to invite back the guests who had just attempted to kill him. Part of me always felt sorry for the guy; although none of my houseguests had attempted to push me down the stairs (that I know of) I knew what it was like to have rude houseguests.

I remember begging my Mom to take me to local book stores, searching desperately for the missing books in my collection. Before the days of the internet or Barnes & Noble, finding certain books became quite an undertaking. Of the collection I think I only ended up with a dozen before I lost interest in the series as a whole. Elementary school students are incredibly fickle, and by the time I had given up on Clue I was into fantasy novels by way of Tolkien, Lewis, and Baum.

10 Responses to “QotD: Books From My Childhood”

  1. Sara Says:

    I loved these. Our public library had all of them. They were full of really awful puns, weren't they?

  2. Shinmaru Says:

    Man, I used to obsessed with these books lol. We still have a bunch of them somewhere, I think. I was never that great at them, either, though I did solve at least half of the mysteries in each book without cheating.
    I remember always thinking that Mr. Boddy was an idiot for reinviting the guests to his house every book. "Oh, Mr. Green did hit me over the head with a wrench, but he assured me that it was an accident!!" Either Mr. Boddy is the dumbest host ever or he really needs to grow a pair.

  3. Shinmaru Says:

    Also, it always amused me that Mr. Green is wearing a blue suit on the cover of the first book.

  4. Megs Says:

    Clue remains my all-time favorite board game. The books were so great –
    me and the siblings would all read them and then brag about when we
    figured out who did it, even though I'm pretty sure we were all lying.
    And the movie… holy mother of god, do I love the movie.

  5. Sara Says:

    And the movie… holy mother of god, do I love the movie.Basically, yeah. Do you know I didn't even see it until my senior year of high school? Ridiculous.

  6. Tony Says:

    I never even heard of the movie until I was in college. A girl I was "dating" brought it out and I was surprised it was actually real.

  7. Charlie Says:

    Egad! There are ‘Clue’
    books? Now I feel as though I was
    deprived a potentially glorious childhood memory.

  8. Sara Says:

    Yeah. Sorry about that.

  9. N Says:

    I used to read those all the time. For that matter, any book with that general setup. Encyclopdia Brown, some others I can't remember, and one where Sherlock Holmes was a dog. I never accurately solved one mystery. Not one. I had more luck on Scooby Doo, where the solutions were usually nonsense.
    And ah, the Clue movie. It started my lifelong obsession with Tim Curry.

  10. Shinmaru Says:

    Encyclopedia Brown is awesome.


Leave a Reply

