Batman Legos

January 9, 2007

What’s something you bought, knowing it was a total waste of money?

This is a QOTD very near and dear to my heart. As anyone who has been shopping with me knows, almost all of my purchases are a complete waste of money. Just today I bought two different brands of dish soap, just because I couldn’t figure out which one I liked more. It’s not that I have a large amount of cash to spend on stupid things like this, I’m just terribly indecisive. This, combined with my nerdiness, often results in purchases I end up regretting.

A good example of this is the LEGO: Batman Arkham Asylum Playset. For a mere 80 dollars Aaron and I could spend countless hours putting together 860 pieces of fun. The age range specified ’12 or older,’ so I figured that between the two of us we wouldn’t have difficulty with it. In my youth I spent many hours playing with Legos, so this would be a fun way to reconnect with that. If you’ve ever read a blog post by me, or understand three-act structure, you know all too well that things didn’t turn out as I had planned.

Joshhateslegos

The first problem arose when I realized that there was no organization to the 860 pieces presented in the box. While I don’t expect LEGO to make the assembling proccess easy, this was ridiculous. For example, if I were looking to find all of the pieces of the Arkham Asylum ambulance, I would have to look through every one of the 15 bags of crap they provided.

Several hours were spent simply trying to put the different legos into different piles, and by then we were exhausted and angry at one another. Starting this new hobby off with the most difficult Lego set may not have been a good idea. Admitting defeat we finally placed everything back into the box, and shoved it as deep into the closet as we could.

RiddleMeThis

I’m not really disappointed with the purchase, but acknowledge that the money could have gone to a much better cause. At the very least, I got some cool Batman-themed Lego men out of it.

7 Responses to “Batman Legos”

  1. Dead Says:

    you hate lego?I'm sorry, we can't be friends anymore.

  2. Sara Says:

    If you've ever read a blog post by me, or understand three-act structure…Muahaha. When I visit you, I will help you put this together. We will be utterly victorious.

  3. Tony Says:

    You do not sort Legos. You grab them as they are required. That would have been much faster.

  4. N Says:

    I don't believe I've ever actually played with Legos.

  5. Miss Mimmi Says:

    Lego is essential to any kid! Which means Nerdsy is …. oh, no. I dare not finish that sentence because of the horror it implies ;___;But yes, Batman-themed lego men is one of the coolest things I've seen lately.

  6. M Says:

    haha, the pic of angry josh is great. =p


Leave a Reply

