HL: Count(er) Your Blessings

April 26, 2008

Ironically, the week after we had an amazing showing at our local Hobby League was when we finally got our prize support. This was the prize kit that I had been waiting for since December, since it included the much-too-awesome Superman/Batman Robot and Roshambo! The night itself is already documented on Tier 2 Tutor, but I thought I’d include my personal story as well.

One of our newer players only had an Avengers reservist build on hand, so it was decided that the six of us try our hand at a Bring Your Own Set tournament. Yes, we’ll be giving away those same prizes all month long… but I wanted them NOW!

In order to win, I pulled out the big guns for this one. It was time for Shadowpact.

Count Chocula – Silver, Bring Your Own Set

4x Madame Xanadu, Cartomancer
4x Blackbriar Thorn, Druid of Cymru
4x Ibis, Prince Amentep
1x Rose Psychic, Ghost Detective
4x Detective Chimp, Shoeless Gumshoe
3x June Moon * Enchantress, Good Witch
1x Dr. Occult, Richard Occult
2x Blue Devil, Big Blue
1x Zatanna, Showstopper
4x The Phantom Stranger, Fallen Angel

4x Magical Lobotomy
4x Collecting Souls
4x The Conclave
3x Divination
2x Transmutation
2x Mystical Binding
1x Conjuration
1x Spectral Slaughter

3x Chimp Detective Agency
2x Dr. Fate’s Tower

1x Amulet of Nabu, Fate Artifact
2x Cloak of Nabu, Fate Artifact
3x Helm of Nabu, Magic

There aren’t many surprises here, save for the inclusion of Ibis on 3 (which I’ve never seen anywhere else.) Blackbriar will become enormous, and in very little time. On turn 4 I had him at 13/12 with only a single artifact, and when fully equipped he was nigh-unstoppable.

The clear weakness of this build that I am not so much managing my endurance total as I am… digging myself into a deep hole. If you can achieve clear board control by turn 4 this is not a problem, but the deck’s late game really isn’t sufficient enough to turn the tide of a match. You either win early or you don’t win at all. Here’s how it did:

Round 1 – Emerald Eye Legend

Without Mobilize (heck, even with Mobilize) the Future Foes have serious consistency issues. However, when the deck hits it really hits! Thie deck scored its’ first three drops, which resulted in some heavy, unplanned endurance loss on my part. Fortunately the Fatal Five began to peter out in later rounds with missed drops, allowing me to win by a handful of points. People who question the power of Blue Devil clearly have never won a match solely due of him being KO’d.

Round 2 – Avengers Reservist

I had played against this just prior to the tournament, and it tore my Shadowpact apart. The Avengers clearly have a late game advantage over to Shadowpact (or, at least in this build they do) so it was important for me to come out of the gates swinging. Blackbriar once again became ginormous, and even stonewalled a team attack. The loss of board advantage ultimately killed the reservists, and I was able to walk through this match with little trouble.

Round 3 (Finals) – World’s Finest Ladies

My opponent had very unique Gotham Knights / Team Superman build. The curve consisted solely of female characters, starting at Maggie Sawyer and going all the way up to Lady Shiva. Unfortunately for him his deck missed several key drops, while I more or less got a miracle draw. The match was over very quickly, but even in the much more even rematch Shadowpact was able to secure the win.

So yes. After last week’s complete shutout it felt great to win first place. More importantly, I’m glad that our Hobbby League is now ‘legitimate’ enough to receive official prizes from UDE. Months ago I was only playing with my friend in our apartments, but taking an active part in the VS. community has been terribly rewarding. Not only do I feel like my skill has improved, but I have met some great people along the way, both online and off.

Next week we’ll be running Random Punks at our Hobby League, followed by our first officially sanctioned tournament. The format is Modern Bring Your Own Set, so if you are in the Fullerton, California area on Wednesday afternoons feel free to stop by.

The Realm Games & Comics
860 W. Imperial Hwy.
Brea, CA 92821
714-990-8450
http://www.therealmgames.com/

We meet every Wednesday at 5:00, and it usually lasts until about 8 or 9. See you there!

One Response to “HL: Count(er) Your Blessings”

  1. shamilton777 Says:

    can you get me a decklist for the Emerald Eye Legend deck? My curiosity is piqued!


Leave a Reply

