Insane Golden Age Shenanigans

May 5, 2008

This past Friday The Mar and I attended EdgeWorld’s SoCal Golden (Age) Bear Event. EdgeWorld is one of, if not the most competitive VS. environment in SoCal, so we decided to go ino swinging.

As the name of the event suggests, the format was Golden. After some serious thought I figured that the deck I would have the most fun with was Insanity, and that it would also allow me a great deal of versatility. I had recently refitted my Insanity build for Silver (and later, Modern) so with a few changes here and there (mostly the addition of Political Pressure and Concrete Jungle) my deck was ready for action.

My victories were all pretty close, which made for some exciting matches. The first was against a killer Age of Apocalypse X-Men build, while the latter went against Mar’s Darkseid Love Fest. My second victory was against a…. well, I’m not entirely sure what the deck was. It had Fate Artifacts, Punisher Sage, Bad Press, Black Cat, and a handful of other totally random cards. If I had not drawn into Metallo things would have turned out very differently, but his inclusion ended up saving my skin. Yay.

After a night of Insanity my brain was fried and my record was 3-2. Not bad at all. My two losses were against Doomy Injustice Gang Hand Burn (NOT a great match-up!) and Anti-Green Lanterns. In hindsight more cards could have been put in my deck to counter swarm , but there was nothing in my arsenal to stop Injustice Gang. Oh well.

The full deck is listed after the jump.

Wacky Golden Age Insanity Build

Catwoman, Jewel Thief
Lex Luthor, Megalomaniac
Basil Karlo * Ultimate Clayface, Mud Pack
Mr. Sinister, Visionary Geneticist
Dr. Sivana, Mad Scientist
The Joker, Headline Stealer
Mr. Mxyzptlk, Troublesome Trickster
Terra Man, Toby Manning
Two-Face, Split Personality
Barbara Gordon * Oracle, Hacker Elite
Batzarro, World’s Worst Detective
Matt Hagen * Clayface, Mud Pack
The Joker, Crazy for You
Captain Boomerang, George Harkness
The Penguin, Crime’s Early Bird
Darkseid, Apokoliptian Oppressor
Scarecrow, Fear and Loathing
Satanus, Colin Thortin
Gypsy, Illusionary Operative
Professor Emil Hamilton * Ruin, Power Suit
Metallo, John Corben
Bat-Mite, #1 Fan
Sondra Fuller * Clayface, Mud Pack
Hush, Silent and Deadly
Ilsa Haupstein, Great Heart
The Joker, Out of His Mind
Kate Corrigan, Folklore Consultant
Hal Jordan, Founding Member
Lex Luthor, Metropolis Mogul
Dr. Doom, Richards’ Rival
Calendar Man, Julian gregory Day

Roshambo
Jack-in-the-Box
No Man Escapes the Manhunters
Vicarious Living
Gravesite
Political Pressure
Concrete Jungle
Batzarro Beatdown
Return of Donna Troy
Enemy of My Enemy
Straight to the Grave
Pick a Card
Prison Break
Total Anarchy
Savage Beatdown
Money Talks
Secret Origins
Skreeeeeee!
Certifiable
Obey or Die!
Burn Baby Burn
Need for Speed
Have a Blast!
Hush Baby
Beside Myself
Blind Sided
Usual Suspects

Soul World
Blackgate Prison, Maximum Security
Arkham Asylum, Team-Up

Mind Gem
Ego Gem

One Response to “Insane Golden Age Shenanigans”

  1. tudor5 Says:

    When the hell did you put darkseid into that deck!
    Shenanigans!
    Put good job, and I won’t deny that beating you at paper rocks scissors was one of the highlights of the night.


Leave a Reply

