Manhunter is Back!

June 4, 2008

No, not the Martian Manhunter (Give that some time.) I’m talking about Kate Spencer, Manhunter! Her self-titled DC comic book series returns today with beautiful Michael Gaydos art.

Kate Spencer was a criminal prosecutor in Los Angeles until she found herself trying to convinct the villainous Copperhead for crimes he had clearly committed. The failures of the court system allowed Copperhead to walk free, which is when the enraged Kate Spencer decided to take the law into her own hands.

As Manhunter, Kate wields several pieces of superhero/villain tech that she stole from the court’s criminal property lockers. She is a ruthless vigilante, and over her short career she has killed numerous villains. Most recently Manhunter has joined the Birds of Prey, and is slowly integrating herself into the larger superhero community. Unfortunately, her willingness to kill has already put her at odds with many of her peers, including the Justice League.

Kate Spencer is a complex character, and often struggles to balance her superheroics with a career and raising her son. For years Manhunter has been one of the best series DC continues to publish, and I’m very excited to see what’s in store for our heroine.

So go buy it! Actually — buy two, since this book could really use the sales.

4 Responses to “Manhunter is Back!”

  1. capspud Says:

    Except for the gender swap, that is the EXACT same backstory as Marvel’s X-Cutioner.

    *shakes head in disappointment*


  2. But does X-Cutioner have Azrael’s gloves? I think not!

  3. Christopher Says:

    I keep seeing this book, and hearing how great it is, but I never think to read it. Ho-hum, I’m the reason comics as a whole are dieing, I guess.

  4. sterofsteel Says:

    I started Manhunter at issue 1, mainly to give my wife another super-heroine to read. I dropped it because she wasn’t reading it, but I picked up an issue every now and then. After the One Year Later jump, I was hooked. I love this book and happy that Kate is back. Now if I can just get my wife to read it…


Leave a Reply

