Weird Werds: Awesome

July 13, 2008

I hate it when people use the word ‘awesome’ to describe something negative. Despite the actual definition of the word, I will always associated ‘awesome’ with words like ‘gnarly’ and ‘tubular.’ You know, things that the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles used to say.

It really doesn’t matter how many people had their lives ruined by a natural disaster. Once you describe the event as ‘awesome,’ I immediately think of pizza, and I smile.

What words have a strange connotation for you? Sara, I know you’re reading this. Hi.

4 Responses to “Weird Werds: Awesome”

  1. lady_lea Says:

    I feel the same way about the word 'awesome'. If something is awesome, it must be a great thing. There are some slang words that bother me. When I lived in Jersey City, the word 'phat' was pretty popular to toss around and I didn't like it. When I was a lot younger, there were some people's names that I hated saying because they felt weird in my mouth [like Albert, Bruce and Linda for example]. I'm not sure that's a common problem, haha.

  2. Megs Says:

    I don't know about weird connotations, but I can't read or type the word "extraordinary" without imagining somebody saying it in a really overdone British accent.

  3. Shinmaru Says:

    Indie movies have destroyed the word "quirky" for me, because apparently it's the only adjective you're allowed to use when describing them. I can't even look at the word without my blood boiling.


  4. Magical. Enough said.


Leave a Reply

